You are here

Enhanced Fine Legislation in Work Zones

The following table lists enhanced fines for speeding or other violations in traffic work zones by state. The citation links will take you to the full text of the state laws. For information on other traffic laws related to work zones, visit the Other Work Zone Legislation by State page. Contact the Clearinghouse if you have any questions.

StateCitation (with link to full text)Violations AffectedWorkers Must be PresentType of Enhanced Fine
Fixed ($)Multiple of Original Fine
Alabama Code of Ala. § 32-5A-176.1 speeding yes --- 2X
Alaska Alaska Stat. § 28.90.030 all traffic violations no --- 2X
Arizona A.R.S. § 28-710 speeding yes --- 2X
Arkansas A.C.A. § 27-50-408 moving traffic violations yes --- 2X
California Cal Veh Code § 42009 numerous violations specified yes --- 2X
Colorado C.R.S. 42-4-1701 all traffic violations no --- 2X
Connecticut Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-212a all moving vehicle violations yes --- 2X
Delaware 21 Del. C. § 4105 numerous violations specified no --- no less than 2X for a 1st offense
District of Columbia D.C. Code § 50-2201.04c all moving vehicle violations yes --- 2X
Florida Fla. Stat. § 318.18 speeding yes --- 2X
Georgia O.C.G.A. § 40-6-188 speeding yes $100-$2000,  up to 12 months jail, or both ---
Hawaii HRS § 291C-104 speeding no $250 ---
Idaho Idaho Code § 49-657 speeding no $50 ---
Illinois 625 ILCS 5/11-605.1 speeding no $375 for a first offense and $1000 for subsequent offenses ---
Indiana IC 9-21-5-11 speeding no $300 for a first offense. $500 for a second offense and $1,000 for a third offense within three years. ---
Iowa Iowa Code § 805.8A all moving vehicle violations no --- Traffic violations other than speeding: 2X
Speeding violations: up to $1000
Kansas K.S.A. § 8-2118 all moving vehicle violations no --- 2X
Kentucky KRS  § 189.394 speeding no --- 2X
Louisiana La. R.S. 32:57 speeding yes --- 2X
Maine 29-A M.R.S. § 2075 speeding no --- 2X
Maryland Md. TRANSPORTATION Code Ann. § 27-101 speeding no up to $1,000  
Massachusetts ALM GL ch. 90, § 17 speeding no --- 2X
Michigan MCLS § 257.601b &
MCL § 257.320a 
all moving vehicle violations no --- 2X + not fewer than 3 points
Minnesota Minn. Stat. § 169.14 speeding yes --- 2X or X+$25 (whichever larger)
Mississippi Miss. Code Ann. § 63-3-516 speeding yes --- $250 for a first offense and 2X for subsequent offenses
Missouri § 304.582 R.S.Mo. speeding or passing yes --- $250 +X for a first offense; $300 for subsequent offenses
Montana Mont. Code Anno., § 61-8-314(5)(a) all traffic violations yes --- 2X
Nebraska R.R.S. Neb. § 60-682.01 speeding no --- 2X
Nevada NRS 484B.130 speeding yes --- 2X up to a total of $1000, 6 months jail or 120 hrs. community service
New Hampshire RSA 265:6-a speeding yes $250-$500 ---
New Jersey N.J. Stat. § 39:4-203.5 all moving vehicle violations no --- 2X
New Mexico N.M. Stat. Ann. § 66-7-301 speeding no --- 2X
New York NY CLS Veh & Tr § 1180 speeding no --- $90-$600, up to 30 days jail, or both
North Carolina N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-141 speeding no --- X+$250
North Dakota N.D. Cent. Code. § 39-06.1-06 speeding yes Minimum $80 ---
Ohio ORC § 4511.21(P)(3) & ORC 4511.98 speeding yes --- 2X
Oklahoma 47 Okl. St. § 11-806 speeding yes --- 2X
Oregon ORS § 811.230 numerous violations specified no --- minimums: misdemeanor, 20% of max. penalty; felony, 2% of max. penalty
Pennsylvania 75 Pa.C.S. § 3326 numerous violations specified yes --- 2X
Rhode Island R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-14-12.1 speeding no --- 2X
South Carolina S.C. Code Ann. § 56-5-1535 speeding no $75-$200, up to 30 days jail, or both ---
South Dakota S.D. Codified Laws § 32-25-19.1 & § 22-6-2 speeding yes --- 2X up to $500, 30 days jail, or both
Tennessee Tenn. Code § 55-8-152(f)(2) & § 55-8-153(e) speeding yes $250-$500 ---
Texas Tex. Transp. Code § 542.404 all moving vehicle violations yes --- 2X of min. and max. applicable
Utah Utah Code Ann. § 41-6a-209 speeding yes --- at least 2X
Vermont 23 V.S.A. § 1010 speeding no --- 2X
Virginia Va. Code Ann. § 46.2-878.1 speeding yes up to $500 ---
Washington Rev. Code Wash. (ARCW) § 46.61.527 speeding no --- 2X
West Virginia W. Va. Code § 17C-3-4b speeding yes up to $200, 20 days jail, or both ---
Wisconsin Wis. Stat. § 346.17 numerous violations specified yes --- 2X of min. and max. applicable
Wyoming --- --- --- --- ---

Last modified 3/26/2014

Categories: Laws and Legislation | Penalties | Fines | Traffic Violations | Speeding | Work Zones